Club Statement on Project Brave and the Future of the Club’s Youth Structure.

Club Statement on Project Brave and the future of the Club’s youth structure.

Elgin City representatives (Graham Tatters & Robbie Hope) attended a meeting at Alloa last Thursday to discuss the new youth development level within the Project Brave plans. The previous week the SFA published to the public the new Project Brave structure[1] omitting several clubs including City, which of course created concerns from players and parents of the non-listed clubs.

The Club can announce that Elgin City will continue to be a part of the Club Academy Scotland (CAS) programme participating in the ‘Advance Youth Programme’ with currently 5 other clubs that match the same criteria. One of the major changes Project Brave will bring in is the introduction to Summer Football for the U16 and younger squads and is set to commence in the New Year (2018) with all age groups moving up a year. The current U16/17s will continue play in their league and in season 2018/19 will also move up a year (U18) but will continue to play the typical winter season.

The Chairman (Mr Tatters) feels it is important the Football Club to remain in the CAS programme to allow the youth players to play regular high level development and competitive games against other professional teams in Scotland.

The Club’s youth development committee will now be meeting to discuss a new blue print for the Football Academy to adjust to the changes. The Club’s Academy Manager Robbie Hope comments saying that “There will be a transitional period in order to adjust and tweak the set up in the academy but the new changes should be very beneficial to the development of the youth players at the Club”. Once the blue print has been finalised the details and games programme will then be presented to the players and their families.

Project Brave Academy Structure 2018/19


Aberdeen, Celtic, Hamilton, Heart of Midlothian, Hibernian, Kilmarnock, Motherwell, Rangers.


Ayr United, Dundee United, Forth Valley Football Academy, Inverness Caledonian Thistle, Partick Thistle, Ross County*, St Mirren, St Johnstone.


Dundee, Fife Elite Football Academy, Greenock Morton*, Queen’s Park.


Alloa Athletic, Airdrieonians, Elgin City, Livingston*, Montrose, Queen of the South, Stirling Albion.

*May be subject to appeal.


Posted in club, News.

Leave a Reply